“4th of July 2012”

Carrot Cake
Carrot Cake (Photo credit: S-t-e-v-e-n)
English: fresh potato salad
English: fresh potato salad (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
English: A chocolate cake during the 4th of July
English: A chocolate cake during the 4th of July (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Happy July 4th!  Again Summer seems to be a fleeting thing,  just as it has been each and every year that I can recall.  Summers long ago when I had no gray hair,  seemed to last nearly forever!  Didn’t it seem that way to you?  Let’s be honest now,  they were longer than they are now!   Right???  Well it seems that way to me and you’re not going to argue with those of us over 65, now are you!  The 4th is turning out to be a very typical one…mowing the rather large lawn, taking out the meats for grilling, perhaps thawing out a Carrot cake for our dessert, then preparing all sorts of salads . I’m not sure which one I like best?  The good olde potato salad, the macaroni, or the good ole garden salad with Hidden Valley dressing or Blue Cheese or Thousand Island dressing…..which one will  we have?  Big decisions are to be made before too long!  Sometimes I wish the kids were home again. It would be so wonderful to see them once more, as it’s been several years since I’ve seen all of them together. But there’s that olde saying, “If wishes were horses, beggars would ride” and I’m not sure they’d drive all that way to comeup for the 4th of July?   I’ll wait and see if they’ll call ? I’ve thought about it and have come to a conclusion,  I’m calling them!! I’ll look up their numbers and leave a message!  Can’t hurt now, can it .       Getting back to the 4th, I’ve decided on good old “puppies in toasted buns”, good old pickles,  chopped onions ,mustard  and some dessert!  Sounds good to me!  So have a Happy 4th !!

Please leave your reply

