Description: The Tawny Owl (Strix aluco) is a ...
Description: The Tawny Owl (Strix aluco) is a species of owl resident in much of Europe and southern Russia. This species is a part of the larger grouping of owls known as typical owls, Strigidae, which contains most species of owl. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
old wise owl
old wise owl (Photo credit: alandberning)

Last night as I was turning over in my bed, I thought I heard a low noise outside.  It reminded me of something I’d heard  not too long ago.  I laid there straining to hear it once again…..seconds turned into minutes, then all of a sudden I heard it  and more distinctly this time!  It was my old friend, returning to his summer home…. My Grand Old Owl!     What a wonderful, wonderful surprise.  Each summer since we built our home, he’s been here to greet us with his form of Hello!  I so look forward to hearing hear in hearing him each year, it’s sort of a tradition around the place.  I’ve never given him a name but perhaps I should.  I’ll think on it for a while. I’ve only caught a glimpse of him flying from tree to tree, a sight to behold!  I know it’s a male, ’cause of his coloring and size too.  The first time I spotted him, I was shocked as well as surprised because of his size! He’s not an itty-bitty guy, ya know….he’s sort of a king size raptor with talons and  beak to match.  I had one time wondered, where all the squirrels were going? Yup! You got it….  They were all disappearing down his gullet!    He’s sort of a blend of king kong and a pterodactyl.  So I respect him!    Ya can’t do anything else, right?  He’s on the prowl each night,  flying quietly through our woods. By the time the small critters know he’s around, it’s sort of too late, if ya know what I mean…Some critters are beneficial, but some are are just plain pesky!   The thing is  I’m not sure how he figures it out?  Perhaps it’s an ingrained talent only he has?  And he’s really doing his job!  Only the good Lord knows for sure?   I’m an optimist at heart,  so I do look forward to listening for him each evening, as his calls reassure me that all is well !  God bless my Great Old Owl!     

 PS…       There’s nothing else more wonderful to hear than the birds and animals making their presence known to us at the end of a long day. We set aside time just before we sleep just to listen.        Still listening..ME

                   

1 thought on “Old Wise Owl

Please leave your reply