Phony E-mails on the computer

Verizon MiFi 2200 Connection
Verizon MiFi 2200 Connection (Photo credit: Old Shoe Woman)

The other day, I opened up my E-mail, trashed most of them, but then I noticed one that was from Verizon-wireless. I opened it and surprise- surprise, inside I found a bill and information telling me that I owed Verizon Wireless, $1,227.72 !!!!! What the what?
I quickly read the bill, and as far as I was concerned, I DID NOT owe them anything! I’d paid all my monthly bills, including my Verizon Cell bill, sooo, it must be a mistake, right? As calmly as I could, I looked up Verizon in my phone book. Well, I’ll be darned…there were so many numbers I didn’t know where to start. Finally, I decided to call the main number for Verizon and ask their operator who I should talk to? She hooked me up with a young lady who was very helpful. At first I thought” she’d think I was a senile old lady who had hit the panic button.” But after a few minutes of asking me some questions and getting my account number, she left me on hold to go and see what was up!
After a bit, she returned, saying something that really surprised me:
“Lots and lots of people had been calling in, complaining about just what had happened to you”. So, needless to say, I wasn’t ready for what she was about to say,…”Its a scam, a SCAM,!” She’d said to me….”What? What did you just say?”. She repeated herself, then told me ” Not to worry anymore!”. I said “thank- you, thank- you” several times…Wishing her well, I hung up. But afterward, I sat there, feeling like a dumbell. Sometime later I began thinking about the whole thing, and decided that I’d done the right thing! I wasn’t a dumbbell, rather, I was smart to call and let the Verizon company know what was going on.
So, my dears, take heed, and don’t answer all E-mails that look weird….just try and be ALERT!
Take care, I’ll be talking to you soon.

PS.  I just received another one of those e-mails!  This time it was for $1487.00.! Quite a difference from the last one!

Please leave your reply

